The Scarlet Restaurant

Last week the sun was out. The surf was up and the wind blew the spray on breaking waves into high peaks of glistening white horses.  My OH and I, chatting a little, but mostly quietly staring out of the Scarlet Restaurant, were in a zen-like heaven, mesmerised by this long animated view of sand and sea and Cornwall.

I had – lucky me – been invited to try the new Scarlet  ‘Eat-a-Little or Eat-a-Lot Lunch Menu’ and while we ate and sampled each other’s plates of food we truly enjoyed a few hours peaceful escapism and much-needed togetherness. The Scarlet really is the ‘adult-only’ zen-like tranquility they say it is. 

But what a difference a week makes?  My husband’s leave is over and now he’s back is Denmark. Today, with no other comfort but toast… and stuck peering out in the grey gloom of  a rain-soaked cloud… I find myself  contemplating seduction.

Maybe if I show you what we enjoyed together you won’t blame me.

Scarlet chef Tom Hunter’s new lunch menu – as much or as little gorgeous food as you desire, served in a beautiful chilled out setting accompanied by an amazing best sea view.

Choose some of  best new dishes as either a starter or a main course or as a three-course lunch for just £22.50.

Even though I’ve said that I can’t personally photograph food and make it look good… my phone is pretty damn good at it 🙂

photo[22]

Tempura of Cornish fish with saffron aioli and fennel

photo[23]

Terrine of confit duck with orange, balsamic and toasted brioche

photo[24]

Roast cod with herb potato gnocchi, beetroots, confit tomatoes, leeks and tomato salsa

photo[25]

Sirloin of Cornish beef with duck fat chips, grill garnish and béarnaise sauce

photo[26]

Kea plum parfait with Cornish rhubarb and honey madeleines

photo[27]

Muscavado panna cotta with Cornish strawberries, ginger and biscotti

 photo[21]

4 thoughts on “The Scarlet Restaurant

Leave a Reply

