The excitement of being a Mother & Baby tester…

I hope I will be forgiven for not posting this right at the beginning of the testing process. Time ran away with me and life a at home got shaken up quite a bit. I could have mused about it on my blog, if I’d found a moment to do so.

So, here is a belated post from one of this year’s testers.

Lia, over to you…

Oh wow, lovely news! From what I can see some of the allocated bathtime products are suitable for use by both for our newborn boy and our toddler, so looking forward to testing them doubly!

 

I am not a good writer, by any means, but I had a little bit of inspiration the other night and wrote something half decent…

 

Here it is:

July 2012 (just before and just after the arrival of number two!)

Tuesday: I couldn’t quite believe it when Jessica sent THE email. I was picked to become a tester of baby monitors for THE mother and baby awards 2012. 

This is the ‘creme de la creme’ of baby product awards, and I do remember first seeing those gold stars on products I was looking to buy when I was pregnant with number 1 and thinking:

Wow, this has won an award, I am so buying it!

The excitement was so intense that it didn’t even wear off when I told my husband and he replied with the usual ‘okay,good’ manner.

Men…

OK they are not supposed to know about these things, and fair enough he has other things on his mind.  Especially being that I am due to give birth later this week.  So I picked up the phone and called the first fellow mum tester, who had a baby girl three months ago.

Now, that was the reaction I was looking for!  She hadn’t had a chance to buy a monitor yet and was overwhelmed by the choices available, so another perfect candidate. By the end of the day I had already 4 mums and 1 dad lined up and started making arrangements as to who would test what when.

 

Wednesday: The monitors may not be here yet, but I am such a control freak I want it all sorted in advance, especially since one of my friends is going away on holiday in August and I need to get the feedback in.

Monday: A few days and a baby later (yes, number two is here!) I got another email with all the tantalising details and updated my friends. Now for the agonising part of waiting (not long, but long enough for me) to receive the monitors, one by one, over the next couple of days to test. 

Tuesday: I looked at my beautiful bundle of joy,  and his hyperactive brother for a second and I thought….who do i need to monitor first? Ha. No, seriously, if it wasn’t for my toddler sleeping in his own ‘big bed’ now and moving about, I would probably want to keep an eye on him too, to ensure he is not:

a) in the kitchen, having mastered how to open the top drawer and holding the sharpest knife, or

b) in the bathroom, turning the hot water tap on or even more scarily,

c) by the baby crib pulling baby’s hair and covering baby’s face with his Peppa pig George hat.

What if the right eye is half-open checking, say monitor A to see baby, and the other eye wide awake checking monitor B to see toddler, I am a supermum and can manage this and sleep deprivation so long as there are no accidents..(yeah right).

Thursday: There is one more thing I need to figure out though, and this is SERIOUS. How to keep toddler away from the monitors I am testing. You see, he, just like his mummy, is a gadget-aholic with serious intent. I bought a new camera for me, he got a kiddie camera for Christmas so that he doesn’t mess up mine, he has his own kiddie laptop and mobile phone. He even knows how to use daddy’s Blackberry (much better than daddy himself, but that is not so difficult to beat/achieve). I must come up with a plan to ensure he doesn’t become too interested in the monitors. 

I, like many mums I know, work with lists, so I get on with the task of preparing a list of bribes for toddler to keep the monitors out of his reach..I first do this while I am half asleep breastfeeding baby, continue through the night (in my dreams) and finish it off in the morning.

1. Ice cream in the freezer (get earplugs for when daddy comes home and sees it)

2. One or two Peppa pig DVDs (must borrow from the library, and this time I must return that book I took out 2 years ago)

3. Promise to go somewhere by train tomorrow (even two stops to Shadwell will do, so long as the transport resembles a train!) At least his obsession for trains is manageable, the other day he asked to go on a helicopter ride! Eeeeek

4. No number four yet, but I am not even done breastfeeding..zzzzzzzzzz

Leave a Reply

