Sunshine and Flower Power

This picture must have been taken in the summer of 1968 or thereabouts. The time of the hippy mantras ‘make love not war’ and ‘flower power’. Hippies  is what we were pretending to be.

I remember my sisters and brother were allowed to ride on top of the family mini while we drove through the streets as part of St. Austell’s summer carnival parade. My cousins were sitting inside for this picture, but I’m pretty sure, being older than I, they’d been allowed to ride on the top too.  It seems unimaginable now that a parent might drive along with their children on the roof.  But my parents weren’t completely reckless.

I wasn’t allowed to join them  on the roof as I was only 3 or 4 at the time.  Nevertheless I kept complaining that it wasn’t fair and that I was sure I wouldn’t fall off.  As the youngest in family I felt I was at the bottom of the pecking order and so spent most of my childhood complaining about some injustice or other.

There are very few pictures taken of me as a child. In part because, in my mother’s words; “the novelty of taking pictures of our children must have worn off by the time we got to four.” The other reason is that I was camera-shy. I’d pout, or cry or stick a thumb in my mouth and sulk.

If you look at the back of the car that’s my mother holding me. A tiny face in profile. Sucking my thumb for sure as the little fist at my face implies and sulking.

I’ve added this picture as my contribution to Tara Cain’s 101th photo gallery this week.  

 

3 thoughts on “Sunshine and Flower Power

Leave a Reply

