Infuriating mails

Now, I know people who complain:

“I get hundred’s of e-mails everyday. It’s so time-consuming looking at them all.”

Should I assume they take time to carefully check their spam, forwarded jokes, irrelevant mailings etc. and  read, reply and file them all? Personally, I find the delete button so liberating.

If only things were so simple with paper mail.

Sorting through the post requires organisation. I need a knife and a paper recycling bag.  My OH has trained me to remove all the cellophane windows on official post (he believes they shouldn’t go in with the paper ). But once I’ve opened the post and removed all the cellophane windows I’m at a loss to know what to do next. How much is safe to discard? What should I file and keep? And does the kitchen table suffice as a place to file these? I end up shuffling stuff into piles and pushing them under OH’s nose as soon as he is back on leave.

Of course, having just moved house, all these piles (still not tackled) have moved with us.

But had I not been so efficient with my envelope discarding, perhaps I wouldn’t have thrown aware the envelope that contained this letter. For in the absence of a handwritten signature, perhaps the handwritten address would have confirmed that ‘his admission of fault’ wasn’t my invention?

And then, of course, once you’ve sifted through the junk mail and catalogues, there are letters which are plain incomprehensible. Like bills that refer to accounts with numbers (please remember I have number blindness). And others, because they are created on the press of a button, that seemingly make no sense at all. Have you had those bills when you owe nothing and yet there’s still a payment slip enclosed to pay the nothing with?  Or crazy hospital appointments? I had one of these last week. It  said:

Due to unforeseen circumstances it has been necessary to change your appointment: Tuesday 02-Oct-2012 at 10.40 am with  Dr. P  in the Outpatient Department.

We have therefore made a further appointment for you. The next available appointment is: Tuesday 02-Oct-2012 at 10.40 am with Dr. P  in the Outpatient Department.

I’m still bemused about this one. Do I take the time to ring them to tell them that they’ve not changed my appointment at all?

In the same day’s post I also had this from LV:

“Dear Mr. F. (He’s the account holder) 

We write further to the above referenced claim.

We have agreed to a 50/50 split on liability with the other party. Therefore please find enclosed a cheque for half your excess amount.”

They had already told me I had no choice in the end other than to settle this way, or I’d be seeing no money at all. However, the cheque they stated was enclosed with this letter WAS NOT!

I was straight on the blower.

And what would you know to add more insult to my injured pride?

Before I could tell anyone I was ringing to inform them of their error, they began asking me (since I’m not the account holder) a set of  security questions. I had to pass these before they’d say the magic words: “…and how can I help you today?” I was busting to scream!

So LV, you’d love my feedback would you?  Your service was ultimately a fail even on the simplest level. I was treated more like a fraudster rather than the legitimate spouse. My promised courtesy car was never delivered and as a service it was pretty rubbish on almost every other count. And you expect me to believe you really acted with ‘my best interest’ with my claim?

I’m definitely not happy, are you? 

One thought on “Infuriating mails

  1. Pingback: Liars and Injustice (Part 2) « Jessica Milln's Blog

Leave a Reply

