‘Mother’ saying goodbye to ‘Baby’

Yes, that’s me, I’m waving!

After seven years of coordinating all the testing for the annual Mother & baby awards I’ve finally decided that it’s time to ‘let go’.

At the beginning, I liked it as a nice manageable self-contained project that it was; because organising a hundred ‘mum ‘ testers for nappies, pushchairs, car seats and baby foods could exist inside school hours and outside school holidays.

However with each ‘successful year’ so the monster  ‘baby’ grew, bawling, mewling and demanding my attention at every second of the day. My own offspring hanging around looking dusty and neglected in darkened corners or shuffling awkwardly so not as to disturb their ‘grumpy’ mater raging at humongous databases and endless e-mails…

And this year, having grown by around 20% each year, I’d lost count and almost lost the will. I think that  there were more than 560 different products that had to be tested, each one by 10 or more different parents…when you start doing the maths and start to calculate the number of samples, testers, tester forms, calculations and emails, correspondence and phone calls it starts to feel just a little overwhelming. Plus, each product has to be matched appropriately…try finding mums to test a product to draw out an inverted nipple on an engorged breast, for example. It only really works on a tiny minority of women who have this problem with the first few days of giving birth!  Add the fact that dealing with ‘hormonally’ infused (and that’s me too!) who’ll promise to test faithfully and then play the  trump card ‘baby brain’ just when you are tearing your hair out for their results, or worse: flood, fire, divorce, post natal depression and family bereavement.

I threatened to ‘run’ a few years ago but couldn’t quite manage to let go… the words, “but we need you and you do such a good job” were enough to weaken my resolve even though I knew they were saying it just to save themselves the hassle of having to try to find some other gullible sap to take it on.

So, I’m quitting. I’m saying ‘goodbye’ it’s time for me to move on… it’s been hell at times but on the whole both a wonderful sense of relief and achievement (so like childbirth – funny that).

I’ve also made some good friends along the way who’ve made it a joy. So thank you.

21 thoughts on “‘Mother’ saying goodbye to ‘Baby’

  1. First, HAPPY NEW YEAR
    All the best for your future projects Jessica,well done for this ‘giant baby’ and thank you for the opportunity.

  2. Good for you, Jessica! Bet they will struggle to find a “appropriate” replacement!

    You will be missed by so many mums though (myself included)…it was great “working” with you and you have a great sense of humour! 🙂

    xx

  3. Awwwww…Jessica, I can’t believe that you are finally giving it all up! Thank you for giving me such wonderful opportunities and good luck for the future xx

  4. Jessica this was my first year working as a tester for you and now looks like my last,I thank you for the opportunity that you gave me, it was very much enjoyed, and we now wish you every happiness and good luck for the future xxxx

  5. Goodluck with the future I have had fun testing products for you and you were the one who inspired me to start my own blog
    Thank you

  6. Mother and Baby awards wont be the same without you Jessica, but dont blame you at all! You have done an amazing job over the years, sad to see you go. Good luck for everything in the future, all the best to you and you family xx

  7. So sorry to hear that you will no longer be doing the awards. It has been an absolute pleasure to work with you and thank you so much for giving my family the opportunity to contribute our opinions for the awards!

    Good luck in the next chapter in your life! You will be missed!xx

  8. Hi Jessica

    So sad to see you leave, I hope you have fun whatever the furture holds for you. Sending you and your gorgeous family all the best, may 2011 bring you many smiles 😀

    Just a question though, will our details be passed onto whoever takes over?

  9. Congratulations on a truly remarkable job that you have done, you will be missed greatly by all of the mummy testers. Good Luck in your new ventures xxx

  10. Sorry to hear you won’t be doing the testing, I can only imagine the stress levels! Thank you so much for letting me be apart of the baby testing. After my second son was born it gave me a sense of purpose that was just for me. Hope that makes sense! Enjoy your time and pleasures xx

  11. Good luck Jessica, you will be missed – I have been lucky enough to have been a reviewer for the past 3 years and you have done an amazing job, it has been a pleasure working with you and I wish you every success for the future. Kat xx

  12. I remember having to assemble and dissemble cots a few years ago…I don’t know whether to thank you or curse you. But I was there, in your first year. It was an honour.

    Stuart

  13. aww sorry to hear you leaving but good luck for the future in everything you do. Well done for everything you have done over the years. take care x

  14. Won’t be the same without you but I’m sure you’ve made the right descision, it sounds like a nightmare for a team of people to organise let alone a mom single-handed! You are superwoman to have pulled it off for so long and were always there to answer any questions/problems we had. Good luck in all future ventures and enjoy spending more time with your family you deserve it.

  15. Bless you Jessica! Congrats on lasting so long. Can’t believe I have now tested for the M&B awards with 3 babies!! Would never have believed that 5 years ago. Thanks for the experience. All the best with your writing and enjoy your new found ‘free time’ with your boys!

  16. Pingback: The best baby sleep aid? « FishWifey

Leave a Reply

