Olay Total Effects Wake up Wonder 7-in-1 Anti-Ageing

I was a very willing volunteer to review Olay’s new moisturiser Total Effects Wake up Wonder. At my stage of life I need as much waking up (apart from being poked with a sharp stick or being administered cups of tea via an intravenous drip) as I can possibly get.

Curiously, when you read through the ingredients contained in Olay’s magic 7-in-1 Anti-Ageing formula, you’ll come away no wiser since it is obviously not there for enlightenment. The print is tiny and the science-speak language too obscure for mere mortals, however I make out Camelia Sinensis (that’s the tea plant) Leaf Extract.  I suppose that absorbing a tea fix through the pores makes a kind of connective sense to me.

I’m already digressing. So does it work? Or your money back guarantee.

I first applied by sample of Olay’s Total Effects Wake up Wonder after a particularly restless night of poor sleeping. So I was particularly primed for the full effect. The smell’s the first impression – pleasantly ‘cucumbery’, and there was a definite refreshing ‘minty’ tingle to the skin. However, it’s a light moisturiser and mine’s a thirsty skin and I gave a very generous application without any residue of greasiness. So far so good and I did feel a little improved in my crumpled worst.

However, I was a little sceptical if their 7 anti-ageing claims would hold. This is what they say:

Total effects Wake Up Wonder is a lightweight anti-ageing moisturiser providing 7 anti-aging effects in 1 product to wake up your creased, tired looking skin. This is thanks to its new lightweight anti-ageing formula with mint extract.

  1. Line minimisation: Helps to reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.
  2. Hydration: For a health radiant glow.
  3. Firming: Hydrates for firmer skin appearance.
  4. Dullness: Improves skin surface dullness.
  5. Exfoliation: Smoothes and evens skin texture.
  6. Pore appearance: Helps minimise the appearance of pores.
  7. Antioxidant: Helps to prevent free radical damage to skin’s surface layers.

I like to think I look a little younger than I really do and in a bid to hang onto as wrinkle-free complexion as I possible can, I’ve been liberally moisturising my skin for years. It’s all very well to think you look younger, but what if I don’t. What’s the point of anti-ageing if it’s already too late?

The next gamble was to play “Poll my age” on twitter, and I bravely posted a picture of me ‘au naturel’ for folk to gawk at. It’s is amazing how many people are reticent to join in…but in the end I did manage to extract a small poll which had my age ranging (not discouragingly) anything between 36 and 46 giving me a mean average of 41½ , or thereabouts.  I also promised I’d reveal my true age if the estimates came within 5 years of my real age.

I’m the same age – within a few weeks – as the gorgeous Fiona Bruce who’s pretty fabulous at ??. However, now that she hosts Antiques Roadshow and appears on the front cover of Saga I bet she’s feeling her age as much as I do!

One week on, religiously using Olay’s Total Effects Wake up Wonder morning, noon and night there’s nothing really to show that’s different to my skin’s appearance, however it does definitely feel softer, more youthful and invigorated to me the wearer. I like the fact I can put it round my eyes where other creams can sting in these sensitive areas. I like the smell, the texture and the fact that it absorbs so easily. In a nutshell: it’s certainly the nicest moisturiser I’ve tried so far.

Two weeks on, I’m a total convert.

I imagined I’d just use up the sample I had and enjoy it while it lasted since I’ve never loyally followed any type of moisturiser before.

However slapping on the other stuff I’ve normally used has made me really appreciate the difference and now there’s no going back.  I’m not kidding, it’s like wearing cashmere after a lifetime in lambswool;  it’s Chantilly cream to squirty stuff in a can…. and it’s going to send me off struggling for new similes. How can I better describe the effect this new wake up wonder formula has had on my skin?

5 thoughts on “Olay Total Effects Wake up Wonder 7-in-1 Anti-Ageing

  1. Pingback: Almost 50 | FishWifey

Leave a Reply

